Industry News

ComputerTalk's Latest News On Pharmacy Technology And Management

Jim Hunter Receives NACDS’ Prestigious Harold W. Pratt Award 

Sep 2017

The National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) today bestowed its prestigious Harold W. Pratt Award to industry leader Jim Hunter, vice president of supplier services, QuintilesIMS, during the Business Program at the 2017 National Association of Chain Drug Stores (NACDS) Total Store Expo.

Hunter began his career as a teacher in Pennsylvania and later moved on to a successful career in sales with Avis. He went on to becomes a district sales manager for Gillette and then joined Bristol-Myers Squibb as a director of national accounts. Hunter then moved to Novo Nordisk for 15 years before joining QuintilesIMS US, which provides integrated information and technology-enabled healthcare services, in 1983.

Harold W. Pratt—for whom the award is named—dedicated himself to many years of service at Walgreens, becoming the industry’s first director of professional services. Over the course of his 43 years of service to Walgreens, Pratt came to be recognized as the “dean” of pharmacy professional service directors. He worked tirelessly to grow and promote pharmacy operations.

The Pratt Award was established in 1985 by the NACDS Board of Directors and recognizes individuals whose activities have contributed to the promotion, recognition and improvement of the practice of pharmacy within the chain drug industry. 

“Jim is a great motivator of people and he makes everyone feel good about what they do. He is a mentor and motivator to the team and an industry ambassador,” said NACDS President & CEO Steven C. Anderson, IOM, CAE, in presenting the award.

Saying “what better recognition of an individual than from his peers,” Anderson quoted Hunter’s colleagues and friends in recognizing his many and diverse contributions.

For example, Hossam Sadek, president of QuintilesIMS US & Canada, said, “He is a great mentor and taught a lot of people—including me—everything they know about the pharmacy retail industry.”

Anderson also recognized two prior Pratt Award honorees who were present at the Business Program, 2004 recipient Bob Verscharen of the Eckerd Corporation and 2012 recipient Doug Long of QuintilesIMS. Anderson also acknowledged the recent passing of Charlie Burnett of Costco Pharmacies, who received the Pratt Award in 2007.

Trackback Link

Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts


PioneerRx Top-Level Domains Immunization Reporting MTM APhA Operations Excellence AmerisourceBergen Surescripts Pack4U Integra Catalyst Healthcare SoftWriters Kaiser Permanente PrimeCare Enhanced Medication Services (EMS) Omnicell Datarithm McKesson Drug Company Prescription Drug Safety Award mobile apps Patient record Plan Ahead Calendar RxWiki Pace Alliance PDMP Interconnect PharmSaver HRSA Prior authorization TeleManager Technologies NACDS TSE PMP Capsa Pharmacist of the Year IVR Patient Care IIS e-Prescribing SynMed CareClinic Don Dietz Clinic pharmacy NIEM CE Final Rule HIT Standards CIIs Conferences NABP Tim Kosty Workshop Patient messaging ScriptPro J M Smith Good Neighbor Pharmacy Inventory Purchasing Long-term Care Marketing HHS FDS, Inc. Federal Register Mergers FSMB Returns Management 21st Century CURES Act EMV PHSI RxMedic Script Management Partners Preceptor Development Automation Inventory management Blister Cards EHR Retail Management Solutions Secure Patient Information Exchange Will-Call Automation Outcomes Topco Associates Payer Contracting Med Management Medication Carts National chains Compliance packaging Ateb Clinical Care Patient Engagement NCPIE Document management IPC 340B Secure Messaging PDMP Outcomes-based care HIMSS PerceptiMed Delivery Management Reverse Logistics Professional Achievement Med Sync West Communications Kinney Drugs Pharmacy Awards AmerisourceBergen ThoughtSpot 2017 Social Media Pharmacy School Patient Education PrescribeWellness Trade Shows Rx30 Tri-Regulator Collaborative Business management e-Prior Auth Updox McKesson ideaShare 2017 Workflow scripClip PDMP TTAC Analytics Advocacy Continuing Education Arete Podcasts NCPA Pharmacy in Politics Innovation Bartell NARxCHECK Pharmacy of the Year Clinical services billing Buying Groups TCGRx Revenue Chain Pharmacy Robotics Inventory automation People News Creative Pharmacist Pharmacogenetics Cardinal RBC vTLD Customer Conference Adherence NCSBN Prescription Drug Monitoring Qualanex Federal Health Architecture (FHA) Mobile Computing Cart Delivery Optimization Fred's Inc. e-Commerce McKesson GPO HIT Health Mart Pharmacy ownership Pharmacist eCare Point of Sale Unit-dose dispensing Independent Pharmacy CoverMyMeds Multidose cards ONC Cardinal Health Medicine Shoppe Town hall Pharmacy Quality eMAR DIR New Hires QS/1 Pharmacy retail Pouch Packaging NACDS Provider Status Opioid research ePA


GSL Intellicab