Industry News

ComputerTalk's Latest News On Pharmacy Technology And Management

Lynn Connelly Named NCPA 2017 Independent Pharmacist of the Year 

Oct 2017

Lynn Connelly, R.Ph., owner of Medicine Mart Pharmacy in Chapin, S.C., has been named the National Community Pharmacists Association 2017 Willard B. Simmons Independent Pharmacist of the Year. The award is sponsored by Upsher-Smith Laboratories, LLC. Connelly received his award during the Opening General Session of the NCPA 2017 Annual Convention held Oct. 14-18.

The Independent Pharmacist of the Year award recognizes an independent pharmacist for exemplary leadership and commitment to independent pharmacy and his or her community. The award is named in honor of someone who exemplified these qualities: Willard B. Simmons, a former executive secretary of NCPA (which was then known as the National Association of Retail Druggists) and a longtime NCPA Foundation trustee.

"Lynn Connelly is a very deserving recipient of the 2017 Willard B. Simmons Independent Pharmacist of the Year Award," said NCPA President DeAnn Mullins, Pharmacist, CDE, owner of Mullins Pharmacy, WeCare Wellness and the WeCare Diabetes Education Program in Lynn Haven, Fla. "Lynn has a thriving pharmacy practice. He is also a tireless advocate for community pharmacy through his leadership role in various pharmacy-related boards and advisory committees, and by pushing state and federal elected officials to enact common-sense pharmacy-related laws."

Connelly is a graduate of the University of South Carolina. He has been the owner of Medicine Mart Pharmacy since 1982. Connelly is a member of the South Carolina Pharmacy Association, including serving as its president from 2005-2006, and has been the South Carolina Pharmacy Association Foundation's chair since 2012. He is also an active member of NCPA, the American Pharmacists Association, and the Christian Pharmacists Fellowship International.

Connelly is politically active in pharmacy issues. In South Carolina, he was instrumental in helping to pass a prescription drug monitoring program, establish one of the highest state dispensing fees in the U.S., bring more transparency to generic prescription drug reimbursements, create an "any willing provider" provision, produce fairer pharmacy audits, and open up immunizations to pharmacists. He is also very active with pharmacy issues at the federal level.

In addition, Connelly runs a pharmacy residency program that employs approximately six pharmacy students annually. He has won numerous awards over the years, including most recently the 2016-2017 University of South Carolina College of Pharmacy's Outstanding Alumnus award.

Trackback Link

Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts


Creative Pharmacist Pharmacy ownership CE PrimeCare Adherence EHR ePA Immunization Reporting Customer Conference TCGRx PDMP Inventory automation NACDS Delivery Management Rx30 Inventory Purchasing PHSI CareClinic GPO Automation Clinic pharmacy Integra Analytics Pharmacist eCare MTM Patient messaging HHS QS/1 Returns Management Prior authorization Mergers 21st Century CURES Act Omnicell NCPIE SynMed Retail Management Solutions Mobile Computing Cart Compliance packaging Pharmacy School PharmSaver Pharmacy Awards Revenue Top-Level Domains Pharmacist of the Year DIR Robotics scripClip FSMB PMP Kaiser Permanente McKesson Business management FDS, Inc. Document management Med Management Patient record Cardinal Health RxMedic TeleManager Technologies Will-Call Automation IVR Clinical Care PrescribeWellness Multidose cards Pace Alliance Federal Register McKesson Drug Company People News Pack4U Patient Engagement Provider Status HRSA Professional Achievement Inventory management mobile apps NABP Capsa RxWiki IPC National chains Tri-Regulator Collaborative Cardinal RBC NARxCHECK Preceptor Development Unit-dose dispensing Patient Care APhA e-Prescribing 340B Pharmacy retail CIIs Patient Education Advocacy NACDS TSE Secure Patient Information Exchange New Hires Pouch Packaging Chain Pharmacy PDMP Interconnect Innovation McKesson ideaShare 2017 Enhanced Medication Services (EMS) Pharmacy in Politics vTLD Continuing Education Workshop Marketing NIEM HIMSS West Communications NCPA Medication Carts Trade Shows Town hall Script Management Partners Medicine Shoppe PDMP TTAC PerceptiMed Prescription Drug Monitoring Plan Ahead Calendar Blister Cards HIT Standards NCSBN Pharmacy Quality Point of Sale Clinical services billing Operations Excellence CoverMyMeds Updox Prescription Drug Safety Award Kinney Drugs Reverse Logistics Surescripts Conferences eMAR Pharmacogenetics e-Commerce Health Mart Good Neighbor Pharmacy SoftWriters Opioid research Fred's Inc. HIT Ateb Bartell Independent Pharmacy Social Media ScriptPro Workflow Buying Groups Don Dietz Delivery Optimization Long-term Care Secure Messaging Tim Kosty e-Prior Auth AmerisourceBergen ThoughtSpot 2017 Med Sync Pharmacy of the Year ONC Qualanex Outcomes-based care Federal Health Architecture (FHA) J M Smith AmerisourceBergen Outcomes Datarithm Final Rule Catalyst Healthcare IIS Podcasts


GSL Intellicab