Industry News

ComputerTalk's Latest News On Pharmacy Technology And Management

NCPA Innovation Center Honors Andrew Finney for Adherence Efforts 

Nov 2017

Andrew Finney, Pharm.D., owner of Perkins Drugs in Gallatin, Tenn., was honored with the 2017 NCPA Innovation Center Outstanding Adherence Practitioner Award, which is sponsored by PrescribeWellness. The award was presented at the NCPA 2017 Annual Convention, held Oct. 14-18, in recognition of Finney's commitment to improving medication adherence among patients.

"Andrew Finney's strong commitment to greater medication adherence is why he has been chosen as this year's NCPA Innovation Center Outstanding Adherence Practitioner Award recipient," said NCPA President DeAnn Mullins, Pharmacist, CDE, owner of Mullins Pharmacy, WeCare Wellness and the WeCare Diabetes Education Program in Lynn Haven, Fla. "Andrew has implemented effective programs that help patients maximize the benefits of their medications. Reducing the $290 billion that is wasted annually on the improper use of medications requires the forward-thinking mindset of health care professionals like Andrew."

After graduating from the University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Pharmacy in 2005, Finney began working at a pharmacy that opened in 1895 — Perkins Drugs. Finney became a partner in 2009 and the sole owner in 2012. His business has grown so much that a second pharmacy will open later this year.

Finney showed his affinity for improving patient adherence by quickly establishing a medication therapy management service for seniors. He has also implemented medication synchronization and transitions-of-care programs that drive greater adherence for patients juggling monthly refills for multiple chronic medications or for those being discharged from the hospital who are trying to avoid readmission. In addition, he joined the Tennessee Community Pharmacy Enhanced Services Network, which provides pharmacist-centric medical home care that caters to patients with health challenges.

In addition, Finney has been a preceptor and adjunct faculty member with the Lipscomb College of Pharmacy since 2010. He has been recognized with various awards, including the 2016 Volunteer State Community College Distinguished Alumni Award, the 2017 SBA Tennessee Rural Small Business of the Year, and the 2017 SBA Tennessee Small Business Development Center Rising Star.

"PrescribeWellness is dedicated to finding innovative ways to improve health care and is proud to support Andrew Finney as this year's recipient of the NCPA Innovation Center Outstanding Adherence Practitioner Award," says Al Babbington, President and CEO of PrescribeWellness. "Forward-thinking, clinically trained medication experts like Andrew are leading the way in making patients more adherent, which makes them healthier."

Trackback Link

Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts


Podcasts QS/1 FDS, Inc. DIR Pharmacogenetics Patient Education Provider Status Immunization Reporting Qualanex Inventory management CoverMyMeds Patient Engagement Clinical Care MTM McKesson ideaShare 2017 Mergers Integra Don Dietz NIEM Federal Health Architecture (FHA) RxWiki HIT PDMP NACDS TSE Innovation Outcomes-based care Pharmacy ownership PioneerRx IPC Bartell Patient messaging Federal Register Long-term Care NARxCHECK Mobile Computing Cart People News PerceptiMed West Communications PDMP TTAC scripClip Conferences TeleManager Technologies Pharmacy Quality New Hires Updox Town hall Customer Conference Blister Cards Pharmacy retail Pace Alliance Workshop Analytics Datarithm NABP Multidose cards Tim Kosty HIT Standards PrescribeWellness Opioid research Point of Sale CIIs Pharmacy School APhA CE Revenue Cardinal RBC SynMed Medication Carts CareClinic Pack4U ScriptPro eMAR e-Prior Auth Returns Management Automation Clinic pharmacy PrimeCare Plan Ahead Calendar Professional Achievement Patient Care Kaiser Permanente PharmSaver Inventory Purchasing Unit-dose dispensing Patient record Topco Associates Pharmacist of the Year Tri-Regulator Collaborative AmerisourceBergen Secure Messaging Prescription Drug Monitoring Continuing Education 21st Century CURES Act Business management Retail Management Solutions Rx30 Pharmacy in Politics Inventory automation PHSI Clinical services billing Workflow Payer Contracting HRSA Advocacy IIS J M Smith Final Rule McKesson Prescription Drug Safety Award IVR Adherence Script Management Partners Pouch Packaging Document management mobile apps Med Sync National chains EMV Pharmacy Awards 340B TCGRx ONC Pharmacist eCare ePA Creative Pharmacist Medicine Shoppe FSMB Chain Pharmacy Med Management Outcomes Will-Call Automation SoftWriters Robotics Marketing Ateb Buying Groups Catalyst Healthcare Pharmacy of the Year Fred's Inc. RxMedic Delivery Management Enhanced Medication Services (EMS) GPO Arete Reverse Logistics EHR NCPA Preceptor Development Operations Excellence AmerisourceBergen ThoughtSpot 2017 Omnicell Delivery Optimization McKesson Drug Company e-Prescribing Secure Patient Information Exchange vTLD HIMSS HHS Compliance packaging Health Mart Kinney Drugs Prior authorization PDMP Interconnect Surescripts PMP Social Media Trade Shows Good Neighbor Pharmacy NACDS e-Commerce Cardinal Health Independent Pharmacy Top-Level Domains Capsa NCPIE NCSBN


GSL Intellicab